Music List

kyrie notation

This page contains information on music that has been sung recently, and a provisional list of the music that will be sung at St Bride’s. More information will be added to the page in due course. The music for services is also listed in the rear pages of The Oystercatcher every month – click here.

As well as singing the Sunday morning Mass settings, Psalms (to Anglican chant) and motets, the choir of St Bride’s is one of very few choirs to sing the weekly Mass Propers for the Liturgical Year from the English Gradual (Introit, Gradual, Alleluia/Tract, Offertory and Communion). These are settings of the Psalms and other texts from the Scriptures, using beautiful plainsong. A cantor and the choir take turns to sing the various parts of the text, in a responsorial style. This runs as a thread through the Choral Eucharist every Sunday morning, and provides a meditative backdrop to our worship.

Sunday 1 January 2017 – The Holy Name – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
MacMillan
St Anne’s Mass
A New Year Carol – Britten

Sunday 8 January – The Epiphany – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Nicholson
in F
Bethlehem Down – Peter Warlock, arr. D. Hill

Sunday 15 January – Epiphany II – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Harris in F
A Song of Battle – Stanford

Choral Evensong and Benediction – 3.30 pm
Canticles: Fauxbourdon Service – Morley
Anthem: Dormi Jesu – Rubbra

Sunday 22 January – Epiphany III – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Sumsion in F
Eastern Monarchs – Caldecote

Sunday 29 January – St Bride’s Day – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Missa Sancti Joannes de Deo – Haydn
Locus iste – Bruckner

Thursday 2 February – Candlemas – Choral Eucharist 7.00 pm
Sumsion in F
Alma redemptoris mater – Palestrina

Sunday 5 February – Epiphany V – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Mass in the Dorian mode – Cabena
Alma redemptoris mater – Palestrina

Sunday 12 February – Epiphany VI – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Mass for three voices – Byrd
O nata lux – Tallis

Sunday 19 February – Epiphany VII – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Bairstow in C minor
A Song of Battle – Stanford

Choral Evensong and Benediction – 3.30 pm
Canticles: The Fourth Service – Batten
Anthem: O sing joyfully – Batten

Sunday 26 February – Sunday before Lent – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Missa Brevis in D, K194 (Kyrie, Agnus dei) – Mozart
St Anne’s Mass (Sanctus, Benedictus) – MacMillan
O Thou the Central Orb – Wood

Wednesday 1 March – Ash Wednesday – Choral Eucharist 7.00 pm
Mass for three voices – Byrd
Call to remembrance – Farrant

Sunday 5 March – Lent I – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Plainsong Mass
Purge me, O Lord – Tallis

Sunday 12 March – Lent II – Choral Eucharist 10. 30 am
Darke
in F
A Song of Trust – Stanford

Sunday 19 March – Lent III – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Mass for four voices – Byrd
Hide not thou thy face from us, O Lord – Farrant

Choral Evensong and Benediction – 3.30 pm
sung by Strathclyde University Chamber Choir

Introit: We love the Place – Alan Craig
Responses: Tomkins
Canticles: The Short Service – Byrd
Anthem: Like as the Hart – Howells
O salutaris hostia – Villette
Tantum ergo – Duruflé

Sunday 26 March – Lent IV – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
St Anne’s Mass (K, S, B) – MacMillan
Missa Brevis in D, K194 (A) – Mozart
I sing of a maiden – L. Berkeley

EASTER SERVICES 2017

Sunday 2 April – Passion Sunday – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
The Short Service – Batten
God So Loved the World – Stainer

Sunday 9 April – Palm Sunday – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Leighton
in D
The Passion according to St Matthew – Victoria

Thursday 13 April  – Maundy Thursday – Choral Eucharist 7.00 pm
Mass for four voices – Byrd
Ubi caritas – Duruflé

Friday 14 April – Good Friday – The Good Friday Liturgy 10.30 am
Mass for four voices (A) – Byrd

The Three Hour Devotion 12 noon
A sequence of Chorale Preludes from
Das Orgelbüchlein by J. S. Bach

Saturday 15 April – Holy Saturday – The Easter Vigil 8.00 pm
Missa Brevis in D, K194 (S, B, A) – Mozart

Sunday 16 April – Easter Day – Festal High Mass 10.30 am
Missa Brevis in D, K194 (K, G, S, B, A) – Mozart (with strings)
This Joyful Eastertide – Wood arr. Ledger

Sunday 23 April – Low Sunday – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
White
in E flat

Sunday 30 April – Easter III – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Darke
in F
Jubilate in B flat – Stanford

Sunday 7 May – Easter IV – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Cabena in the Dorian mode
Lead me, Lord – Wesley

Sunday 14 May – Easter V – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Nicholson in F
Ave verum corpus – Mozart

Sunday 21 May – Easter VI – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Byrd Mass for three voices
Thou visitest the earth – Greene

Choral Evensong and Benediction – 3.30 pm
Canticles: Fauxbourdon service – Morley
Anthem: O sing joyfully – Batten

Thursday 25 May – Ascension Day – Choral Eucharist 7.00 pm
Darke in F
Above all praise and majesty – Mendelssohn

Sunday 28 May – Easter VII – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Leighton in D
O taste and see – Vaughan Williams

Sunday 4 June – Pentecost – Festal High Mass 10.30 am
Missa Sancti Joannes de Deo – Haydn
If ye love me – Tallis

Sunday 11 June – Trinity Sunday – Festal High Mass 10.30 am
Mass in G – Schubert
Almighty and Everlasting God – Gibbons

Thursday 15 June – Corpus Christi – Solemn Pontifical High Mass 7.00 pm
Messe à deux chœurs et deux orgues – Widor
Panis angelicus – Franck

Sunday 18 June – Trinity I – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Harris in F
Laudate Dominum – Mozart

West End Festival Choral Evensong and Benediction – 3.30 pm
sung by the choir of St Bride’s and Glasgow University Chapel Choir

Responses: Rose
Canticles: Dyson in D
Anthem: Duo Seraphim – Handl
O salutaris hostia – Rossini
Tantum ergo – Henschel

Sunday 25 June – Trinity II – Choral Eucharist 10.30 am
Darke in E
Litany to the Holy Spirit – Hurford
[final service with Hill organ before its removal for restoration]

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s